top of page
  • Writer's picturePyrrha

Week 2 FMP Blog

Updated: Jul 1, 2022

My inspiration in my final project was the composition of works from 4 artists and designers.First of all, I learned about the young Chinese fashion designer Rui Zhou. through Vogue. In fact, I have seen many female stars wearing her works in the fashion shooting before. Her work is unique that she uses silk stockings to form clothes. She considers silk stockings like a female second skin, which interests me. So my focus was on the keywords of silk stockings and women, which I used to continue my secondary research.

Fig. Designer Board for Rui Zhou

In my opinion, secondary research can always provide me with new ideas and broaden my horizons. Through the silk stockings, I associate the installation artist Ernesto Neto, who uses a lot of silk stockings and fillers to show the toughness and fit of this fabric. I have a deeper understanding of silk stockings through this large art work of silk stockings installation. I think it's not just a fabric and a second skin of women, but more like women struggling in pain, no matter how much heavy pain they experience.In the meantime, I did a secondary study on domestic violence and gender equality. I found that people can't go outside in Covid-19, and women and children suffered domestic violence. It makes me recall that my childhood was also spent in domestic violence.

Fig, 2 Designer Board for Ernesto Neto

My childhood was happy but also unhappy. My happiness comes from my mother, who loves me very much. My bad luck is that my parents often quarrel, my father will use domestic violence to treat my mother in every quarrel, although he did not let our body hurt, but the vicious expression and vicious language let my heart suffered a great trauma.But in order to give me a complete family, my mother has been in a cage marriage.


Fig. Designer Board for Katie Truk

Katie Truk's work uses barbed wire, wire, and silk stockings, stitching them all together, and it gives me a lot of new inspiration. Her work uses wire to support silk stockings, which covers soft and elastic fabrics, and is as much a female cage as an unhappy marriage. I think I could use the shape of the cage as part of the garment shape and I wanted to express the women wearing restricted clothes like a cage and then break free. (New idea: Show my final project in a performance, the wire can be opened, and the key is in part of the clothes.)

In this week I use secondary research with artists works to collage and sketch. Making an aesthetic and good visual pages is a challenge for me, because at some times I prefer to make them perfect, but it can be a waste of time.I think I should change my mind and try to make it quickly.


Image List:


Thank you for your watching, my name is Pyrrha, I hope you can remember me!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


錨點 1
錨點 2
bottom of page