top of page
  • Writer's picturePyrrha

Yohji Yamamoto—An artist who took me into the black world

Updated: Apr 5, 2022

Today, I would like to introduce an artist and designer who has influenced me deeply. He is Yohji Yamamoto. In fact, I struggled for a long time, because my favorite designers are very representative and influential. Why did I choose Yohji Yamamoto? I think it was he who made me realize what the fashion and design I wanted was. Strictly, he was my starter of style and fashion.

Wikipedia (2022). Yohji Yamamoto. [online] Retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yohji_Yamamoto#/media/File:Yohji_Yamamoto,_New_York_Fashion_Week,_February_2010.jpg [Accessed 22 March 2022].

In the spring of 2019, I found a book called "Making Clothes" in Page One library in Sanlitun, Beijing. When I turned it over, I found that it was a memoir of a fashion designer. Meanwhile, the book immersed me in it, so I bought it.

Yohji Yamamoto is one of the world's unique fashion designers. He was admired by fashion, but he called himself "anti-fashion": " I am not interested in fashion, I am only interested in how to cut it."He refused to make mainstream suits, preferring to make clothes for marginal figures. He uses black cloth to make old, tear, destroy and challenge people's perception of "beauty": " Perfect is ugly.In the things that humans make, I want to see defects, failures, chaos, distortion." This sentence touched my soul, and he gave me a whole new concept and view of fashion design.

His original insights into beautiful costumes and women, his fascination with the back, his insistence on tailoring, his aversion to fast fashion... Of course, what resonated with me is that he was a big fan of painting as a student and sketched very well. I think we are similar, common hobbies and experiences.His dedication, persistence and extraordinary are deeply attracted to me.




Nicole,P. (2021). Yohji Yamamoto. [online] Retrieved from https://www.vogue.com/fashion-shows/spring-2022-ready-to-wear/yohji-yamamoto [Accessed 23 March 2022].

Yohji Yamamoto's design style has always been unconventional and gender-specific. He designed women's clothing according to the concept of men's clothing.Yohji Yamamoto likes to cover the female body shape in exaggerated proportions, bringing out the aesthetic concept of hermaphroditism. Neneat and meticulous tailoring, detergent cloth and black have all been Yohji Yamamoto's main projects.He spliced, destroyed and embroidered it through the different textures of the black fabric, which gave me a strong attraction to the black. Black can both express simplicity and release luxury, it is a color that can be arbitrarily shaped, it can represent everything. I also want to be like black to fit anywhere and anything.

Thank you for watching, I hope you can remember me, my name is Pyrrha.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


錨點 1
錨點 2
bottom of page